• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.


The Election of 1832

Page history last edited by Mr. Hengsterman 5 years, 12 months ago


Federalist Party: 1789-1820


The Federalist Party: an American political party in the period 1792 to 1816, with remnants lasting into the 1820s. The Federalists controlled the federal government until 1801. The party was formed by Alexander Hamilton, who, during George Washington's first term, built a network of supporters, largely urban, to support his fiscal policies. These supporters grew into the Federalist Party, which wanted a fiscally sound and strong nationalistic government and was opposed by the Democratic-Republicans (or Jeffersonian Republicans). While George Washington never joined the party, he often sided with them on key issues of the day.   The United State's only Federalist elected president was John Adams.  At this time the Federalist became strong supporters of British trade which would ultimately lead to their downfall at the Hartford Convention 1814, where they decided to protest the Republican-backed War of 1812. 



Jeffersonian Republicans (Democratic-Republicans) 1792-1824; c 1824-present


The Democratic–Republican Party: founded by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison about 1792. Supporters usually identified themselves as Republicans, but sometimes as Democrats. It was the dominant political party in the United States from 1800 to 1824, (commonly known as the Era of Good Feelings), when it split into competing factions, one of which became the modern Democratic Party (1824- Andrew Jackson).


The National Republicans: 1820-1833.  A faction of Jefferson’s party, led by Henry Clay of Kentucky and John C. Calhoun of South Carolina.  Unlike the Democratic-side of the party, which sponsored States’ Rights, they advocated national programs to improve the United States.  (The American System)


The Democratic Party: 1824-present.  The Democratic-Republican party split into various factions during the 1824 election, based more on personality than on ideology. When the election was thrown to the House of Representatives, House Speaker Henry Clay backed Secretary of State John Quincy Adams to deny the presidency to Andrew Jackson, a longtime personal rival and a hero of the War of 1812. This event became characterized by Jackson supporters as the “Corrupt Bargain.”  At first, the various factions continued to view themselves as Republicans. Jackson's supporters were called "Jackson Men," while Adams supporters were called "Adams Men."


Democratic-Republican Presidents: Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James Polk, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Grover Cleveland, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Jimmy Carter, William Clinton, Barack Obama.



The Whig Party 1833-1856


The Whig Party: a political party of the United States during the era of Jacksonian democracy. Considered integral to the Second Party System and operating from 1833 to 1856, the party was formed in opposition to the policies of President Andrew Jackson and the Democratic Party. In particular, the Whigs supported the supremacy of Congress over the Executive Branch and favored a program of modernization and economic protectionism. Their name was chosen to echo the American Whigs of 1776, who fought for independence, and because "Whig" was then a widely recognized label of choice for people who saw themselves as opposing autocratic rule. The Whig Party counted among its members such national political luminaries as Daniel Webster, William Henry Harrison, and their preeminent leader, Henry Clay of Kentucky. In addition to Harrison, the Whig Party also counted four war heroes among its ranks, including Generals Zachary Taylor and Winfield Scott. Abraham Lincoln was a Whig leader in frontier Illinois.


Whig Presidents: William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore.

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.